Anxiety strikes

I seem to have landed in anxiety land. After three full months of unemployment and fruitless job search, maybe it makes sense. Almost every action causes me intense anxiety, and mostly, I’m seamlessly anxious/afraid without needing to do anything much. Big sigh.

Despite the fact that yesterday, I went for yet another interview, and it seemed to go quite well. I had a bunch of memorized ‘examples’ of things going well at work and myself being a working superhero. The interview was at my favorite time, early afternoon, so I had no struggle getting there on time. And then, the interviewer didn’t use the standard behavioural interview questions at all. He was pretty off the wall in fact, and very ready to be pleased with me it seemed.

The interview was not with a big corporation. It is a small company that contracts out to large corporations. So, more informal. And in the old section of town, which makes me feel a bit better – a lot of buildings in that hundred year old orange brick that’s a little crumbly and narrower than modern brick.

At the end of the interview, the interviewer said he liked me a lot, and that most likely they’d ask me to join them for a three month upcoming project. So I know nothing for sure yet. As they are small, I’m a little uncertain about them. The project might fall through, for instance. However, the fact is, I did well in the interview, they liked me, and whether I get work or not, this is a good experience.

I also took a small dose of an anti-anxiety med before hand. This makes a big difference I think. I certainly feel better, and I believe I come across as more trustworthy and competent when I’m not trying to batten down mega doses of anxiety while fielding bizarre and useless questions.

So I should be feeling calmer. I’m not. This is anxiety like a sickness – I’m not aware of thinking anything in particular, and most everything is causing it.

The other thing that happened was I went on a short date. A coffee date, with someone from the internet. Men will stir up my anxieties and could be that this has contributed to my current state.

The man was quite nice. He wanted to talk about culture, so we talked books and movies, as well as jobs. He was more self-assured than I was, more outgoing, and I told him i don’t date much so am a bit shy at first. I did see a look of boredom flash on his face a few times, especially at first. After an hour, I said I wanted to get going. I wasn’t bored, but I was anxious, and so glad I had had the courage to meet someone, and relieved it could be over now.

I’m not sure what he thought. The situation made me too anxious to really evaluate how much I liked him. I think I did basically like him. He said maybe we’d talk again, I said sure, that would be great, and that was it. I haven’t heard from him since – we met three days ago. A friend advised a quick email after several days, so I’ve sent an email saying I enjoyed meeting him and hope he wants to meet again. Haven’t heard back. So could be, he’s actually not interested. Though he might still write back I suppose.

I have to learn to tolerate this kind of thing I suppose. But maybe the dating/ probable rejection plus the rejection inherent in a job search has been a bit much for me to cope with.

If I go to bed, and do nothing much, or try some light reading, the anxiety goes away. It’s like playing dead. Maybe I have to do that for a while now. I should be continuing to look for work but it’s too anxiety provoking at the moment.

Anxiety like this that’s around all the time is unusual for me. I’m much more likely to be felled by depression than by endless feelings of fear when there is actually no threat.

 

6 comments
  1. Nat said:

    I know how hard it can be to go on even one interview, so it’s good you did. Sometimes I feel very alone with my job hunting and how long I’ve been unemployed because my social anxiety has a direct impact on how I present myself during interviews. Reading your blog helps me to see I’m not alone after all.

    • Ellen said:

      My anxiety really affects how these interviews go. So I’ve realized I have to prepare, have examples ready, and I think I need the xanax also. This is the only interview I’ve taken it for, and it was the best one so far. I feel pretty much alone with the job hunt also, and am sorry you feel the same. Job hunting is a bitch. I think it can be a challenge for anyone, but when you throw mental issues into the mix, it’s brutal.

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. This interview sounds like it went really well and is much more promising than the other ones you’ve talked a bout. I’ve got my fingers crossed for you. And you’re braver than I am going on a coffee date šŸ™‚

    • Ellen said:

      Thanks. I definitely did a lot better this time. More prepared. Plus it was not the standard interview where everyone is lying. So the combo was a good one. I hope I get work out of it.

      I’m the coffee date queen. šŸ™‚

  3. e.Nice said:

    Ellen the anxiety sounds so awful. Hopefully it passes soon. I am glad the interview went well. Really good job.

    • Ellen said:

      Thanks Nice. I’ve gotten through the worst of the anxiety for now, as long as I don’t do much anyway. It really was difficult. Fingers crossed I’ve got some work.

Leave a Reply

