Kid

girlI see you are hurt and upset and in a dark black mood. How can I help? It affects me, that you are so sad. Can I provide a sunny grass field for you to play in? OK, let’s do that. You still feel sad but a bit better because at least I’m trying to help. OK. How about orange golden light, glowing all around you, healing the dark, making you feel warm and good?

Every time I try and do something, you broadcast your feelings of being choked, of crying with no one to hear. So I stop trying to do things. OK, I’m going to listen to you. You still feel sad and dark and confused and frightened. OK. We’ll try more orange yellow light, warm and good. How’s that?

Cake? I don’t have cake. It’s not that good for stomachs. But we can sit here as long as you like, and I’ll listen, and you can tell me how you feel. Sad? But a bit better? I’m glad it’s a bit better again.

4 comments
  1. I really like this. The kid is lucky to have you to listen and take care of her. 🙂

  2. Gel said:

    For a kid who is in emotional pain to have a caring adult listening is perhaps the best thing. The adult may not have a way to make it all feel better in that moment. But just being heard and cared for and standing along side of the kid WHILE she is in pain, might be even better than making the pain go away. Because it gives the kid the strength to go through it without doing a negative distraction or acting out.

    Thanks for modeling a healthy way of being with a young part who is in pain.

    • Ellen said:

      Yeah, I agree with that. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

