Accomplished and let slide

marshToday, despite feeling pretty bad, I did a few things.

1. Read the paper at an outdoor cafe. (Hey, I made it out of the house.)

2. Picked up my holds at the library.

3. Rustled together three Paleo meals, despite an aversion to cooking when I feel bad.

4. Wrote a blog post.

5. Started a book that is work related, on information management.

6. Washed some dishes.

7. Meditated a few minutes.

8. Decided a glass of vino was OK, first in months. And it was fine.

9. Went for my usual half hour walk once it had cooled down this evening.

10. Read a good chunk of my mystery novel. Not sure this is an accomplishment, but it’s an activity.

I did not do stuff I’d planned, such as:

1. Buy fresh fish and veg. The ten minute car ride seemed too daunting.

2. Vacuum. Vacuum cleaner is too heavy. ?? And loud.

3. Clean bathroom. Too boring.

4. Plant flower pot. Too hot.

Oh dear oh dear oh dear. But I am surviving bad feelings. That takes a lot out of you. I did do some things today so I am not down for the count. I’m still kicking. Tomorrow will be better.

12 comments
  1. The mystery novel counts as self-care–it’s something you enjoyed. Hopefully got some happy chemicals going in your brain. Very important to keep the happy chemicals going.

    I love your positive attitude. Forward, ho!

    • Ellen said:

      I think with the mystery, it gives my brain something to do that’s not too difficult, but keeps it busy. Just hard to enjoy anything much in this state, but the effort helps I find. Thank you.

      • Keeping brains busy and out of trouble when we aren’t feeling so great and might use them to ruminate or descend into a downward spiral of negativity total counts as productive use of time.

        Take care. Hope today was better. 🙂

        • Ellen said:

          I like this reasoning a lot. Today was better. thank you.

  2. Gel said:

    I love it!
    Lots got accomplished and you listened to how you were feeling about it all. I like the doing some stuff and letting some stuff go.
    PS Bone broth can be nice chilled….might not sound like it, but with some salty and savory seasonings it can be refreshing.

    • Ellen said:

      Thanks Gel. The problem with the broth is actually having it simmer for hours, when it’s already so hot – it doesn’t appeal to me. I’m sure I could eat it, hot or cold, no problem. Eating a new way is just tricky I find.

      • Gel said:

        Yes I agree. Who wants to have the stove on when it’s super hot. And I agree that eating a new way is tricky, takes a lot of attention.

        By the way, is that image at the top of this post a painting or a photo? I like it.

        • Ellen said:

          Just a photo. Thanks 🙂

  3. This is a great list. You accomplished a lot. I went through a long period where the bath towel was too heavy and made showering a big chore. So yes, the vacuum cleaner may feel too heavy right now. I love writing lists like this. Glad to find someone else who does too.

    • Ellen said:

      Thanks Persephone. You have a whopper of a depression to deal with. Mine is intense but then it lets up again. Things being too heavy does feature in mine. Yes, lists are excellent!

  4. weareonebyruth said:

    You are doing great. Its ok to put things off sometimes. If you were sick with the flu would it be ok to put those things off to another day? Like you said, tomorrow will be a better day.

Leave a Reply

