Peaceful

roseI’ve been home alone and feeling peaceful and grateful. I had a walk with a friend today, so I feel as if I had some company, and I’m not lonely at all. It feels fine to watch Christmas movies on TV and watch my tiny Christmas tree and little white lights.

I am grateful for…

my bloggy friends, readers and commenters – everyone who stops by, even if you do not speak

Ron – his steadfast support and care, especially noticed in these last few weeks with my distress about my health

the kid – for her playfulness and wishes for little things I can actually give, and her joy

this day and age – where we have great medical care, anesthesia, hygiene, etc….without which I would be dead soon, but with which I am going to be well

my surgeon – he is cool, seems smart, and seems to care

my ex-husband – I know I’ve dissed him, but he has been so supportive, he comes when I call, he listens to me moan, he will go with me when I go for surgery – he’s being a true friend

my son – we are getting along better than we have for many years

my therapy – I can finally see some concrete results which I’ll talk about another time

new friends – I made some new friends this last year, and I treasure them

my winter coat – the warmest coat I’ve ever had, it makes going out in the cold quite a bearable experience!

I wish you all a little peace, a little love, a little good food, a little happiness….Or big, if that’s the case. But I treasure little bits of things lately. Little bits are OK.

20 comments
  1. Juliet said:

    Merry Christmas to you xoxo

    • Ellen said:

      Merry Christmas Juliet. xox

  2. Karen said:

    Lovely post ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve only commented once (I think?), but since coming across your blog a few months ago, I do always read. I’m glad to have met you and am so glad to read that -despite so much crap being thrown at you – you’re feeling positive. May this peace continue ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a lovely Christmas, and here’s to a healthy and happy 2013.

    xxx

    • Ellen said:

      Glad to have met you also – thanks for being here Karen. Happy 2013 to you also.

  3. artyelf said:

    What a lovely post.
    You sound peaceful in the way you have written it, it was soothing to read.
    Sending you warm wishes today, love to you โ™ก

    • Ellen said:

      Thank you Elyn. Love to you also.

    • Ellen said:

      Merry Christmas Cat!

  4. Amanda said:

    I see that I’m terribly behind – and I hate that. But prior to catching up on all that I’ve missed, I want to wish you a wonderful Christmas. Sending you a great deal of love and many hugs. Take good care.

    Amanda

    • Ellen said:

      Thanks Amanda. Love to you also.

  5. Harriet said:

    I agree that little bits are ok. Merry Christmas to you Ellen.

    • Ellen said:

      Little bits – life is like that. Happy Holidays Harriet!

  6. One of the sweetest and most hopeful things I’ve read on your blog, Ellen. You are strong and kind and perhaps this is the journey you need to go through to see that… Merry Christmas to you.

    Aaron

    • Ellen said:

      Glad you liked it Aaron. Compliments also gratefully accepted! ๐Ÿ™‚ I believe I am learning things through this experience anyways. Happy Holidays to you and your family.

  7. weareonebyruth said:

    Beautiful. Merry Christmas and joy in the New Year.

    • Ellen said:

      Thank you Ruth. Happy New Year to you also. I keep leaving little Merry Christmas comments on your blog but they seem to be getting eaten or something. So Merry Christmas! I’m happy for you about the new arrival in your family, congratulations!

  8. Bourbon said:

    Belated Merry Christmas to you. I love your list ๐Ÿ™‚ xox

    • Ellen said:

      Thank you Bourbon! I know you are not celebrating, so I’ll stick to wishing you some peace and contentment. Hugs

  9. This is a beautiful post, Ellen.

    I’m glad we connected. You write with an honesty and openness that draws the reader in. The courage you show in sharing yourself this way inspires.

    Sending thoughts of peace and strength.

    Tom

    • Ellen said:

      Nice to meet you Tom, and thank you! I’m enjoying your writing also – it’s good to read someone who thinks philosophically. Peace to you.

Leave a Reply

