Embracing shyness

Jamie Ridler Studios asks today: What do you wish to embrace?

I wish to embrace my shyness. Wait a minute – aren’t I struggling to overcome social anxiety, sometimes called shyness? I think shyness is a little different, so I want to get over the anxiety, but become ‘successfully shy’.

A successfully shy person doesn’t stay away from people because she is afraid. She goes among people, and talks, but when she stops wanting to talk, is OK with being quiet. A successfully shy person will warm up to people slowly, but allows the warming up to take place.

Shy can mean observant, thoughtful and kind. Shyness doesn’t run roughshod over others, shouting ‘me  me me’. Shy is out there, quietly, observing and taking part.

Today I embrace my shyness.

19 comments
  1. As shy shyandblue wishes for herself, so I wish for her also!

  2. Sulwyn said:

    Hurrah to this wish from another shy person (who also happens to have severe social anxiety). I love your distinctions!As Shy and Blue wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  3. Msartist said:

    As shyandblue wishes for herself, so I wish for her also!

  4. As shy shyandblue wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.I too, struggle with shyness, but as I get older am beginning to appreciate it.

  5. SaS said:

    As Shy and Blue wishes for herself, so I wish for her as well. As you will it, so may it be!(from another fellow super-shy adult with borderline social anxiety. i hear ya. i so hear ya)

  6. Karen D said:

    I am a shy one also, so I can relate.As Shy and Blue wishes for herself, so I wish for her also!

  7. diver said:

    That's a splendid bunch of affirmations there Ellen.All the best with your journey to successful shyness!

  8. Ellen said:

    Thanks everyone for your blessings, and to Diver for jumping in too!This was my first wishcasting Wednesday, and I'll play again…

  9. Nechtan said:

    Hi Ellen,I wondered what was going on there with all the comments. Nice idea and I hope the positivity came through for you.All the bestNechtan

  10. Ellen said:

    Nechtan, suddenly, I'm amazingly popular, lol. You could play too, every wednesday, though for some reason i've only found women participating. Maybe it's a girly thing to do, could be.Cheers

  11. Ellen said:

    Thank you therapydoc. I do enjoy your blog…

  12. A very clever choice which makes incredible sense!

  13. Steffi said:

    I love this, totally!As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also!

  14. Robin said:

    As Ellen wishes for herself, so I deeply wish for her.The world can do with a little more kindness. I think maybe your wish has already come true.

  15. My son suffers from social shyness. I am going to let him read this!As Shy and Blue wishes for herself, so I wish for her toO!

  16. As ShyandBlue wishes for herself, I so lovingly wish this for her also.

  17. Ellen said:

    Thank you dear well-wishers!

Leave a Reply

